The ability to merge skills in the Admin module allows users to combine duplicate skills into one. This feature will work on skills set up for all score types EXCEPT Task Analysis. Users cannot merge duplicate Task Analysis. Merging duplicate skills instead of deleting them is important because it’s an action that ensures patient data isn’t lost. Deleting duplicate skills WILL remove a skill and all associated patient data.
Please note: Once skills have been merged this action cannot be undone. Access to the Merge Skill feature is available to site Admins and any users whose roles have the permissions selected to allow access.
To give users that already have access to the Admin - Protocol - Skills the merge skill feature, please add the Can Merge Skill permission to their security role:
* For help with updating Security Roles please see, “Introduction to Roles,” in this manual.
HOW TO MERGE SKILLS:
1. From Admin, open “Protocol> Skills”
2. When the Skill Page loads, the Merge feature can be accessed within the ellipses (...). The action to merge will not activate until at least 2 skills to merge into one.
3. To search for skills that need to be merged users can use the Skill Search tool to filter skills by Protocol, Domain, Skill Title, Skill Id and/or Score Type and/or the filter in the thin black header:
4. After utilizing the fields within the Skill Search tool SELECT “Get Results” .
5. Scroll through the narrowed list of skills, find and SELECT the skills to be merged.
a. Below is an example of a search for any items with a Skill Title containing the word, SKILL. From the list of skills a couple of skills to merge have been selected:
6. After selecting the skills to merge, click on the ellipses (...) to access and CLICK on Merge
*Note: If multiple skills are selected and the Merge button is not active when you are on this step, you will need to go into each skill and make sure that they all belong to the same Protocol. Only skills that belong to the same protocol can be merged into each other.
7. A window will display with a prompt to select the item (i.e. Skill) to merge into.
8. Choose the item (i.e. Skill) that will remain to represent all the merged skills by clicking on its row then Select .
9. The following Warning message will display:
10. Select .
11. When the merge is complete it will provide the following toast message:
Note: Do NOT try to take any other action in your site until the loading indicator that the merge is taking place is gone and this toast message displays.
12. Now that the merge is complete this is what can be found in the skill that remains from the merge:
- Skill Details: The information in the Skill Details after the merge will be identical to the item selected in step 8.
- Mastery Recommendation: The mastery criteria will be identical to the item selected in step 8.
- Targets: The target list will be a combined list of all targets from the items selected for the merge. If the system found any identical targets while merging skills those will be merged into one target.
- Presentations: The presentations list will be a combined list of all presentations from the items selected for the merge. If the system found any identical presentations while merging skills those will be merged into one presentation.
- Sds: The Sds list will be a combined list of all Sds from the items selected for the merge. If the system found any identical Sds while merging those will be merged into one Sd.
- Score Types: The Score Types list will be a combined list of any score type associated to the skills selected for merging.
- Prompts: The Prompts list will be a combined list of any prompt types associated to the skills selected for merging.
- Assessment Scoring: The assessment scoring information, if defined for the skills being merged, will default to the assessment scoring information of the skill selected to remain in the system.
- Notes (Teaching Tips): The Notes will be a combined list of notes from all the skills selected for the merge.
*NOTE: PHI highly recommends reviewing the remaining skill after a merge is complete. If you find you need to edit the remaining skill please review, “Understanding and Editing Skill Templates,” in this manual.
**NOTE: If duplicate skills were added to a patient record and data was collected on these duplicates, merging these skills following the process above will combine data at the patient level as well.
Proprietary & Confidential